#### PUBLIC BUDGET HEARING

November 8, 2018

Town of Baldwin, 2399-90<sup>th</sup> Ave.

Chairman Douglas Veenendall called the Budget Hearing open for comments. Supervisors Don L. Johnson and Barbara Zimmerman, Treasurer Ronda Helgeson and Clerk James Harer present.

Others: Chris Veenendall, Kay Harer, John Hinz, Marvin & Angie Luckwaldt, Mike Curtis, Tim Simmons and Rob Paulson.

Clerk James Harer went over the proposed 2019 budget line by line and the board is recommending a levy amount of \$229,366.00. The budget would fund itself, if everything went according to plans the beginning and end of year cash balance should be the same. John Hinz asked about the garbage/recycle expenses vs. income. With no other questions Chairman Douglas Veenendall closed the Budget Hearing.

### SPECIAL TOWN MEETING

Chairman Douglas Veenendall opened the Special Town Meeting at 7:06 PM. with the same attendees.

A motion by Kay Harer to approve the board recommended 2018 levy amount of \$229,366.00 for 2019 collection. Seconded by Chris Veenendall. With no discussion the Chair called for a voice vote with all in favor-none apposed.

After some discussion Angie Luckwaldt moved to change the per diem rate for the board effective April 16, 2019. The current meeting rate of \$20 will increase to \$30 and all day and training will increase from \$35 to \$50.00. Seconded by Mike Curtis, carried by voice vote.

Barbara Zimmerman moved to adjourn with Don L. Johnson seconded and voice vote approval.

### **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

The regular meeting was called to order by Chairman Douglas Veenendall at 7:15 PM with same attendees.

Barbara Zimmerman moved to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded and carried.

The minutes of the October 4, 2018 board meeting were read by the clerk. Motion by Don L. Johnson to approve as read. Motion was seconded and carried.

Bank balances and November vouchers were reviewed by the board. Motion by Barbara Zimmerman to approve vendor checks number 9892-9929. Seconded by Don L. Johnson, carried by voice vote.

**Highway projects** for 2018 were reviewed. All summer work has been competed with bill received and paid.

**Website** up-date was given by Treasurer Ronda Helgeson. JB Systems has been contacted and our name placed on list to receive a \$400 discount. That would bring the initial cost to \$1,000 and maintenance cost to about \$40 per month. This would include hands on training for staff.

**Wage rate review** began with review of Maintenance Patrolman Tim Simmons, rates of different towns and county were reviewed. Don L. Johnson moved to give Tim a 2.5% wage increase effective on his anniversary date of November 15, 2018. Seconded by Barbara Zimmerman, carried by voice vote.

**Garbage and Hall Attendant** hourly rate were reviewed. Motion by Don L. Johnson to increase their rate from \$11.00 per hour to \$12.00 per hour effective as of November 15, 2018 and increase Plan Committee per diem to \$30/meeting effective on January 1, 2019. Seconded by Barbara Zimmerman carried by voice vote. Election worker staff will be reviewed upon their reappointment on December of 2019.

**The overhead door** is near completion in town shop. After some review of small trucks the feeling is that one to fit our needs would range in that \$22-25,000 range. The board will keep looking with the goal of deciding in February or March.

**Treasurer tax collection bond** was discussed. Motion by Barbara Zimmerman to approve bond through Statewide Services a sub of Rural Mutual Insurance. Don L. Johnson seconded, approved by voice vote.

**Budget Resolution #2018-11-8-1** to transfer \$5,000 from Debt Reserve Fund to Debt Budget item to cover early loan payoff was moved for approval by Barbara Zimmerman. Don L. Johnson seconded and approved by voice vote.

# Board Meeting November 8, 2018 Page 2/2

**Hilltop Bar** is requesting an operator permit for Kelly Berger, with no objections Barbara Zimmerman moved to approve the operator license for Kelly Berger. Seconded by Don L. Johnson, carried by voice vote.

No correspondences.

**Public comments** centered on the longer nights and Amish buggies that are not properly equipped with operational lights. The recommendation was to sent a recent article from the Wisconsin Towns Association newsletter about rules of the road and required lighting to Joni Gingrich for his information and distribution to other operators.

**Future agenda items:** Assessor oath, approval of 2019 budget, set date for caucus, budget transfers, small truck and website up-date.

**Next meeting date:** Barbara Zimmerman moved to hold the next meeting on December 6, 2018 at 7:00 PM. Seconded and approved.

Chairman ordered the meeting clo	sed at 7:55 PM.
	_APPROVED
Douglas Veenendall, Chairman	James Harer, Clerk

## NOVEMBER 6, 2018 GENERAL ELECTION

The General Election was held at the Town of Baldwin Hall. Polls opened at 7:00 AM with voters standing in line at 6:45, polls closed at 8:00 PM. After 471 votes were cast. Prior to the election Chief Inspector Sandra Olson and Clerk James Harer conducted a Pre-LAT test on Tuesday, October 30<sup>th</sup> at 9:00 AM and a public test was noticed and conducted on Thursday, November 1, 2018 at 9:00 AM, no member of the public was present.

The Type E notice was published and posted for absentee ballots, logs were kept with 25 ballots issued and 23 returned by election day.

Workers were: Chief Inspector Sandra Olson and Inspectors-Karen Esanbock, Judy Johnson, Karen Niccum, Catherine Helgeson. When polls closed results were sent to Hudson, ballots counted, write-ins reviewed, documents signed and material put away. All paper work was delivered to County Clerk Cindy Campbell on Wednesday morning.

Results were as follows: Governor race-(R)Scott Walker-307, (D)Toni Evers-155, (I)Anderson-2. Attorney General- ® Brad Schimel-303, (D) Josh Kaul-153, © Terry Larson-9. Secretary of State- ® Jay Schrodeder-294, (D) Douglas LaFollette-169. State Treasurer-(R) Travis Hartwig-295, (D) Sarah Godlewski-155, © Zuelke-10. US Senator-(R) Leah Vukmir-298, (D) Tammy Baldwin-170. Congress Dist. 7-(R) Sean Duffy-311, (D) Margaret Englbretson-154. Assembly District 29- ® Rob Stafsholt-320, (D) Calabresse-142, (Lib) Corriea-6. Sheriff-(R) Scott Knudson-375, Marion Shea-65. Clerk of Circuit Court-Kristi Severson-390.

James Harer, Clerk	